Concept & History

About us / Contact

Photo Archive
Activities & Press


Press Release: Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum Book

Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum : Book
by Matthias Einhoff, Philip Horst, Markus Lohmann, Harry Sachs, Daniel Seiple

Located to the southwest of Alexanderplatz—where the city districts of Berlin-Mitte and Kreuzberg come together—is an urban area which is undergoing a “critical reconstruction”, an expression used in urban planning to refer to “mixed-use zoning of closed block developments.” In the dead center of Berlin, this area presents an unusual setting in which economic strategies of land divestiture and the politics of sociological urban development have played out as if in slow motion.

In 2006, five artists appropriated this location and have since successfully maintained its presence as Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum. This volume provides comprehensive documentation of its history, development and transformation. Forming the core of the catalogue is extensive documentation of the exhibition series—Bestandsaufnahme, Parcella, Spekulationen, Landreform and Wunderland—in whose context more than thirty artistic projects have been realized since 2006.

This book discusses and comments on art in the public-private realm through interviews and substantial critical essays concerning the project’s art historical, sociological and economic perspectives, and sets forth the complex referential system of the Skulpturenpark.

Susanne Schröder, editor
Maike Fraas, designer

© 2010 Walther König Verlag, Germany
EUR 24.00
367 Pages, 450 color photos und illustrations, Englsh and German

Essays from Martin Conrads, Andrej Holm, Matteo Pasquinelli, Christine Nippe, Daniel Seiple, Susanne Schröder
Interviews by Rodney LaTourelle, Markus Lohmann and Matthias Einhoff
Artists include: Ayreen Anastas + Rene Gabri, Michael Boehler, Etienne Boulanger, Daniel Bozhkov, Matthias Einhoff, Arnaud Elfort + Eden Morfaux, Simon Faithfull, Wiebke Grösch + Frank Metzger, Philip Horst, Sofia Hultén, Daniel Knorr, Folke Köbberling + Martin Kaltwasser, Markus Lohmann, Miklós Mécs + Judith Fischer, Angela Melitopoulos, Ulrike Mohr, Hajnal Németh, Christine Nippe, Matteo Pasquinelli, Valeska Peschke, Jelka Plate, Harry Sachs, Kai Schiemenz, Daniel Seiple, Katarina Ševic, Christoph Ziegler
Curators include: Marius Babias, Elena Filipovic, Eva Hertzsch & Adam Page, Uwe Jonas, Stephen Kovats, Gergely Laszlo, Anette Maechtel, Edit Molnár, Matteo Pasquinelli, Britta Peters, Birgit Schumacher, Bettina Steinbruegge, Adam Sutherland, Adam Szymczyk, Pelin Tan and Tim Voss